Historic Row at Australian Henley

2014 Australian Henley Silver Sculls 96
Winners of the Silver Sculls at the 2014 Australian Henley.  Photo by Grace Blake

In 2014, Grace researched and produced an exhibition row of past winners of the Men’s single sculls at the Australian Henley Regatta.  The regatta drew 21 previous winners for the row which was held just before the lunch break and was announced by Victorian regatta commentator, Roger Wilson, OAM using biographies which were researched and written by Grace.

The exhibition row was a significant event in the history of the Silver Sculls.  This trophy was donated to the Australian Henley Regatta in 1914 to be presented to the winner of the Men’s single sculls each year.  The Sculls, which were created in Melbourne in 1860, are one of the oldest trophies for amateur rowers in Australia.  This centenary row highlighted the history of this trophy, which has been won by well-known Australia scullers including Henry ‘Bobby’ Pearce, Herb Turner, Kevyn Webb, Stuart Mackenzie, Jeff Sykes, as well as German sculler Thomas Lange.

You can view footage of the exhibition row on YouTube (Time sequence:  1:55-4:10).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s